Cooties

I always carry sprays for personal comfort for my love one’s

The Honest Courtesan

This essay first appeared in Cliterati on May 25th; I have modified it slightly to fit the format of this blog.

Though human beings have developed a highly technological society based on scientific principles, the great majority of them are still immersed in magical thinking.  I don’t merely mean a few irrational beliefs which we recognize as irrational; everyone, including the most die-hard skeptics, have such beliefs, and there’s nothing wrong with that as long as we recognize them as irrational and proceed accordingly.  What is not harmless, however, is basing laws and policies on primitive superstitions such as the idea that inanimate objects can be evil, that talismans or inscriptions can grant power over others or turn evil actions into good ones, and that innocuous actions which violate cultural taboos can render a person ritually impure.  Many of the systemic evils of modern societies (such as the…

View original post 892 more words

Author: jeremiah8777

I enjoy painting,drawing, hunting and fishing. I also enjoy collecting antigues, and i have a great alacrity for people. I love traveling being an ex merchant marine and exarmy and being a country boy love growing roses as a hobby. I enjoying growing flowers and having a garden, i am very clean natured. Thats my mom in me!

Leave a Reply

